The AROSE Team

Board Members

David Flanagan AM CitWA

Director, Chair

David Flanagan is a geologist with more than 25 years’ experience in the mining and mineral exploration industry. Currently, he is the Chair of Battery Minerals Limited and Red Dirt Metals. He was previously the founding Managing Director of Atlas Iron Limited, where he oversaw the company’s growth from a junior explorer to an ASX Top 50 company.

Leanne Cunnold

Director, Chief Executive Officer

Leanne has over 25 years’ experience in the technology industry having held senior executive leadership positions with APC and Schneider Electric throughout Asia and the US. Leanne has a diverse mix of experience across commercial operations, product marketing, strategy, M&A, and digital and strategic transformations. These organisations provide energy and automation digital solutions for reliability, efficiency and sustainability across industry and government.

Linda Dawson


Linda Dawson is a senior executive with more than 25 years’ experience working in large Australian and multinational organisations across the resources and utilities sectors. Over Linda’s career she has led corporate services, community development, human resources, health safety and environment, corporate affairs and operational functions. Linda currently works for the Department of Jobs Tourism Science and Innovation in the Western Australian Government, as Deputy Director General Industry Science Innovation.

Sam Forbes


Samuel Forbes is an accomplished engineering and technology executive, with an entrepreneurial mindset. He has some 14 years’ experience overcoming the challenges of operating in remote and harsh environments. Samuel is currently the Director of The Australian Space, Automation, AI and Robotics Control complex (SpAARC); a Fugro development co-funded by the Australian Space Agency.

Stephen McIntosh


Stephen McIntosh retired from Rio Tinto at the end of 2020 after more than 33 years with the group. He was most recently Group Executive for Growth and Innovation. In this final role he had the direct accountability for staff and contractors operating in more than 30 countries covering most of Rio Tinto’s global technical functions including exploration, studies, construction, technical services, Information Technology, data science, robotics & automation, R&D, asset closure and for the last year he also led the global health, safety, environment, and security function.

Chris Moran


Chris Moran has over 30 years research experience in the fields of soil science, natural resources and water management. Currently, Chris is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Research at Curtin University; a role he has held since August 2016. Before joining Curtin, Chris led large and small-scale research projects for the University of Queensland’s Sustainable Minerals Institute, and for the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO). While at CSIRO, Chris led the start-up of the "Water for a Healthy Country" National Research Flagship.

Giacinta Parish


Giacinta (Gia) Parish is Director of the Defence & Security Institute and Professor in the School of Engineering at the University of Western Australia (UWA) and has held various academic and leadership roles, most recently Associate Dean, Research in the Office of the Deputy Vice Chancellor Research. In 2022 she was also a visiting researcher at CSIRO. Professor Parish has authored and co-authored around 130 international publications, with around 2600 citations, and was an inaugural Women in Technology WA ‘20 in 20’ award winner in 2018. As well as Director of UWA Defence and Security Institute she is currently a member of the Advisory Board for the UWA International Space Centre.

Jim Whalley


Jim is Chairman, Executive Director and co-founder of Nova Group. He is a former air force fighter pilot and test pilot and a graduate of the Royal Air Force Empire Test Pilots’ School. Amongst other qualifications, he holds a Master of Business Administration, a science degree majoring in physics and has completed the Harvard Business School OPM Executive Education Program. Jim is active in several business forums and is a director of the Adelaide Festival of Arts, AmCham and Australian Naval Infrastructure.

Staff Members

Michelle Keegan

Program Director | Mining Engineer

Kyle Saltmarsh

Program Delivery Lead

Guy Marchesani

Finance & Governance Officer